Yapping Yak

THINKING ALOUD

Daily Archives: March 21, 2012

Damn Right I Am Angry

this potential employer has a problem with your immigration status and chinese name

Subject: SUGGESTIONS: Accounting Assistant application

1. Omission of your immigration status in your resume (which I define as your opportunity to present your credentials) is a fatal and frankly unprofessional mistake. I recommend that you clearly deal with that all-important issue. if you have work status, speak up; if you don’t, admit it and present well-reasoned justifications for an employer to take-on a frustrating and expensive task not inherent with so many other applicants.

2. You have a Chinese Name and are applying for a professional position with a US company. I suggest that you put a Mr, Ms or Mrs before your name so that an employer may utilize the correct pronouns in addressing you in correspondence. Potential employers have no such hurdles in addressing most candidates. Were I you (gender neutral), I would list my name as “Mr. Jack Smith” in applying for employment. Such is style of my own resume.

3. Had I made the aforementioned mistakes, I’d correct them forewith, re-date my resume and re-submit them to all potential employers.

Jack

Jack W. Smith Jr., Senior Vice President

Young Genius.

Young Genius.

A HS senior’s blog. I feel useless. Well to quote a friend of mine “I didn’t go to Exeter”.

Let’s make it a goal that I get the same level of popularity in 3 yrs, when I will be 10 yrs (approximately) older than he is now.

Crabby Day Pump-up

Crabby Day Pump-up

Meow….

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.